Cheesefare Week

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
m
Line 1: Line 1:
'''Cheesefare Week''', also known as ''Butterweek'', is the seven-day period immediately preceding [[Great Lent]], somewhat comparable to the [[Roman Catholic]] tradition of [[Carnival]]. During the week, [[Orthodox Christian]]s partake especially of foods that will soon be forbidden to them for the next eight weeks of Lent and [[Holy Week]]. These foods include all animal products (except meat, the fast from which begins the day before Cheesefare Week, Meatfare Sunday), including butter, eggs, cream, milk, cheese, and other dairy products. Also included are wine (all alcohol) and oil (or solely olive oil), which are only allowed on Saturdays and Sundays during Lent.
+
'''Cheesefare Week''', also known as ''Butterweek'', is the seven-day period immediately preceding [[Great Lent]], somewhat comparable to the [[Roman Catholic]] tradition of Carnival. During the week, [[Orthodox Christian]]s partake especially of foods that will soon be forbidden to them for the next eight weeks of Lent and [[Holy Week]]. These foods include all animal products (except meat, the fast from which begins the day before Cheesefare Week, Meatfare Sunday), including butter, eggs, cream, milk, cheese, and other dairy products. Also included are wine (all alcohol) and oil (or solely olive oil), which are only allowed on Saturdays and Sundays during Lent.
 
{{stub}}
 
{{stub}}
 
[[Category:Liturgics]]
 
[[Category:Liturgics]]
 
[[Category:Church Life]]
 
[[Category:Church Life]]

Revision as of 18:19, February 12, 2007

Cheesefare Week, also known as Butterweek, is the seven-day period immediately preceding Great Lent, somewhat comparable to the Roman Catholic tradition of Carnival. During the week, Orthodox Christians partake especially of foods that will soon be forbidden to them for the next eight weeks of Lent and Holy Week. These foods include all animal products (except meat, the fast from which begins the day before Cheesefare Week, Meatfare Sunday), including butter, eggs, cream, milk, cheese, and other dairy products. Also included are wine (all alcohol) and oil (or solely olive oil), which are only allowed on Saturdays and Sundays during Lent.

This article or section is a stub (i.e., in need of additional material). You can help OrthodoxWiki by expanding it.
Personal tools
Namespaces
Variants
Actions
Navigation
interaction
Donate

Please consider supporting OrthodoxWiki. FAQs

Toolbox